EXO was formed by SM Entertainment in 2012 as a twelve-member group including Suho, Lay, Xiumin, Baekhyun, Chanyeol, Chen, DO, Sehun, Kai, Kris, Luhan, and Tao. The members were separated (until 2014) into two sub-units - EXO-K and EXO-M. The KPop group debuted with their debut single Mama in April 2012. Kris, Luhan, and Tao left EXO in 2014-2015.

SM Entertainment has released a large number of EXO merchandise so far, including those for their concert tours. These products are often available online at the official SM Global Shop and in real life at the SMTOWN Coex Artium in Seoul.